race results: rookie season wrap-up!

November 29, 2006 at 3:11 am | Posted in (multi)sports, Active, Cycling, Vegan | 1 Comment

my rookie duathlon season, however short, is officially over. three competitions since september. fun. unpredictable. challenging. what more could i have asked for…familyMo and Azali came through and represented with much energy and love (my fellow BLACTIVEGANS: nite*vision, aus-boogie, sala a.k.a. saylah-v, azali-wali). the family swooped through in the batmobile and made their warm presence felt. inspiration. this and the warm(er) weather made the experience that more enjoyable. and of course, my trusty 16 speed, red frame-yellow-tire mondonico.

finish line

results my overall time: 1:37:37 placing 138th out of 162 participants. 15:50 on my first 2mile run time (ABOUT 7:30/mile) and my 2nd 2mile run time 16:55 (ABOUT 8/mile). my bike time was 1:01:44 for a 12 mile distance-UGH!

experience i’m proud of my what i’ve accomplished with little experience and training. i have a clearer idea of what areas i need to improve upon, but not exactly sure how to improve on them yet. i did learn that riding up hill is a big challenge for me ; after 4 hard miles, i’m spent; oh! changing gears is an art & science.

what’s next cross training in martial arts, swimming and maybe a few attempts at indoor rock climbing. but i also feel that i need to seriously consider ways to stretch. someone suggetsed pilates to me. any other ideas, folks?

Season Summary Chart

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] i’ve got it bad! my season ended nov 26th, with my 3rd ever duathlon, but all i can do is find new, and unnecessary, reasons to ride. you would think the cold weather would suffice as deterance….nope. i’ve got the bug…i’ve got it bad. somebody save me…<hr/> […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

